Mac Retro Matte Lipstick – All Fired Up

SAM_2035

This is a very exciting blog post for me, because I am writing about my very first Mac lipstick! Yes, I finally lost my Mac lipstick virginity. Here it is:

SAM_2037

Isn’t it beautiful! I arrived in town a bit early the other day, so I decided to pop into Mac for a look round. I was looking at the lipsticks and totally fell in love with this colour. All Fired Up is a gorgeous hybrid between red and pink. I’d describe it as a cherry colour. I asked the sales assistant if she thought it would suit my complexion and she said “yes, yes, a million times yes”. After that, I thought I’d better try it, and it was so perfect I decided to splash out and buy it.

SAM_2039

The formula of this lipstick really surprised me when I initially put it on. It is really dry, not smooth and creamy at all, so it can be difficult to apply and can look awful on dry or chapped lips. Mac recommend using a lipstick primer underneath it, but does anyone actually own one of those? I just make sure I’ve been using lip balm regularly so my lips aren’t dry.

So if that is the downside, what are the best things about this lipstick? Well the colour is super pigmented and looks totally amazing! It is also really long lasting which is fantastic as it doesn’t need re-applying very often. Also, because of the dry, matte formula, the lipstick doesn’t bleed and there’s hardly any transfer.

So I’m now a Mac lipstick convert. What others should I try?

 

 

9 thoughts on “Mac Retro Matte Lipstick – All Fired Up

  1. I still didn’t try any. 🙂 I thought retro matte is limited line or it’s not? I love this color in every post I saw but I’m not sure we have it. Anyway our Mac store closed for renovation.:)

  2. Is this one a matte formula? Because if it is thats why it was on the drier side, my favorite formulation from MAC is their Satins and their Cremesheens, and if you’d like to see a bunch of swatches of MAC lipsticks, I just did a post on my entire collection, or there is this blog: Karlas Sugar and she has just about every lipstick MAC makes swatched.
    XOXO
    Veronica

  3. Pingback: July 2014 Favourites | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

