Testing Products Part Three

SAM_1976

This is the third, and long time coming, instalment of my Testing Products series of posts. You can read Part One and Part Two if you enjoy this or fancy seeing what else I have tried out. Anyone got any ideas for a better title for this series? I have been trying to think of something clever and witty but I can’t.

Lush It’s Raining Men Shower Gel – I got a tiny sample of this when I did a Lush order online, and it smelt so incredible I got a bigger version to take to a hotel with me. It smells so incredible – sweet and creamy like caramel or toffee. Totally delicious.

Lush American Cream Conditioner – I smelt this in a Lush store in London and convinced myself I had to try it because I needed conditioner. It’s a totally gorgeous sweet vanilla smell which reminds me of cupcake frosting – gorgeous. Unfortunately the formula just doesn’t work for me. It doesn’t seem to go very far and it doesn’t feel like it does anything to my (very) thick, long hair. It’s such a shame because it smells delicious.

Melvita Moisture Replenishing Night Nectar – This night time moisturiser was in my You Beauty Discovery box a few months’ ago. It suits my skin nicely because it isn’t too thick, it absorbs quickly, and it doesn’t give me oily skin or make me break out. Unfortunately, it has a really peculiar smell which I don’t like at all, so I won’t be re-purchasing it.

Clinique All About Eyes – I was given a sample of this in my local Boots when I purchased some Clinique products. I don’t use an eye cream yet because I feel a bit young, so I was interested to try this. I was surprised that it didn’t irritate my usually very sensitive eyes at all, and it was quite refreshing if I was tired or had sore or dry skin under my eyes. I’m not really sure I want to start regularly using an eye cream yet, but this is one I would definitely consider when I do.

Clinique Superprimer Universal Face Primer – This primer is easy to apply and works perfectly well – I think it makes my makeup last longer than it would without it – but I just don’t love it. I can’t really put my finger on why. It just didn’t wow me, so I will stick to Benefit The Porefessional for now.

Inika Mineral Eyeshadow in Gunmetal – This was another You Beauty Discovery box product. It’s a fabulous silvery-grey metallic colour with a lot of shimmery glitter in it. It’s easy to apply with a finger and looks very effective. It would be great for a night out. However, be warned, it’s a loose powder and it goes everywhere, and generally where you don’t want it, like on your clothes!

Caudalie Divine Legs Tinted Lotion – I decided to use this out of curiosity because so many people seem to adore it. I usually stay far far away from tanning products and simply embrace my English rose complexion (i.e. permanently pale). It is scarily dark when you first apply it to your skin, but it buffs down to a nice pale brown (not orange) colour, which looked very natural even on my very pale skin. It also washed off super easily. If I was the kind of person who used tanning products, I’d definitely reach for this.

Just when you thought we were done, I remembered one sample I left out of the original photo: Glam Glow Supermud Clearing Treatment. I was unbelievably excited to try this product because Glam Glow are a really expensive brand and their products are supposed to be amazing. Unfortunately, my experience of it was a complete disaster. The day after I used it, I broke out BIG TIME. I must have got about 12 new spots overnight. I know it was probably because the mask cleared out all the grime in my pores and brought out the spots to purge it, but who wants that? I’ve been way too terrified to use it since, so it’s going in the bin. How disappointing!

SAM_1978

One thought on “Testing Products Part Three

Leave a Reply

