Clinique Age Defense BB Cream

SAM_1948

 

As you will know if you read my Clinique Shopping Spree post, you will know I bought this product on a bit of a whim (an expensive whim). For a while I had been wanting a make-up product which would give me a little coverage at work but would be much lighter than foundation. For some reason, it popped into my head one day that I wanted to give a BB or CC cream a try, but I wasn’t really sure where to start looking or what product to buy.

I somehow found myself at the Clinique counter and asked the assistant for her recommendation. She explained that Clinique has designed their CC cream for drier skin and their BB cream for slightly oilier or combination skin. On that basis, I opted for the Clinique Age Defense BB Cream as I would class my skin as combination.

I asked the assistant to help me choose a colour. She thought shade 2 would be right and so tried a little on the side of my face. It looked invisible in the mirror so I agreed it was spot on. The website describes it as for “very fair to moderately fair complexions with golden undertones”. I have been really pleased with the colour because you really can’t tell it’s on my skin when I blend it in. I just look healthy, and a tiny bit tanned. I was really surprised that shade 2 was right for me, because I am honestly so pale when you look at me.

Clinique describes their BB cream as “a medium buildable coverage cream that reduces the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, helps conceal imperfections and enhances skin’s complexion”. The formula is supposed to calm the skin whilst also protecting against UV and environmental damage.

The product has a really light, creamy texture and is super easy to apply. I often use my fingers instead of a brush, although both give a nice natural look. Even though the coverage is very light (which is what I wanted) I still feel like I have all my redness and blemishes covered which means I need less concealer than I would normally use. The coverage lasts all day and it doesn’t feel like I’m wearing makeup which is great.

The BB cream also has SPF 30 which is fantastic for a makeup product (a lot seem to be SPF 15 or 20). Wearing SPF every day helps to prevent red marks, according to the assistant at Clinique. It’s also really important in preventing ageing. I am reaching my mid twenties so this is something I am starting to think about.

I have really been enjoying this product so far and I’m glad I gave it a try. The only thing I am not sure about is the price. £26 seems a lot of money for makeup. It’s against my nature to spend that much. Perhaps someone can recommend me another high street BB cream for a more reasonable price?

 

4 thoughts on “Clinique Age Defense BB Cream

  1. Wow this BB cream sounds great! Im currently on the lookout for a summer BB cream and I might get this one after reading this post 🙂
    I’m a new Irish blogger and I’ve been really enjoying the content of your blog. Maybe we can follow each other? I would love to share my thoughts on makeup with you!
    Cecilia x

  2. Pingback: July 2014 Favourites | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

