Updated Evening Skin Care Routine

SAM_1781

This post might shock you, because unlike most beauty bloggers, I use hardly any products on my face. However, I wanted to do this updated evening skin care routine because I have finally found the products that work for me.

I would describe my skin as normal-combination. I sometimes get a little oily around my t-zone, but it’s not too bad now I’ve got a proper skin care routine.

So first thing’s first, I start by using Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser to remove my makeup and they day’s oil and general yuckiness. I rub the cleanser all over my face and then wipe off with a muslin cloth which I’ve run under the hot tap so it’s hot but not uncomfortably so. I rinse the cloth and repeat as many times as I need to. If I’ve been wearing a lot of makeup, I repeat these steps to make sure I’ve got everything off.

Most days, and especially if I’ve worn a full face of makeup, I follow up with Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic. I apply a little on a cotton pad and sweep over my face. I’m not mad on the heavy floral scent of this toner, but I like how it freshens and soothes my skin and removes any over traces of makeup left after cleansing. I have to be careful not to use toner twice a day and to give my skin a bit of a break by taking a dsy off every now and again because toners dry my skin out quite easily.

Since I have been using Liz Earle products, my skin has had shown a dramatic improvement. I used Cleanse and Polish from summer last year and stopped for a month or so to try a new cleanser. My skin got really oily again and I broke out all over the place constantly. As fast as I got rid of a spot, another sprung up. A combination of going back to Cleanse and Polish and this next product finally got my skin back under control.

After using toner, I apply La Roche-Posay Effaclar A I targeted blemish corrector to any spots or blemishes. This works really nicely at either making the spot disappear virtually overnight or significantly speeding up the healing process.

I leave the blemish treatment to dry for a minute or two and then I finish up with moisturiser. I am quite lucky with moisturisers, because unlike cleansers, different moisturisers don’t seem to have much of an effect on my skin. I like to change it up quite a lot and try new ones. I go for something quite light. At the moment I am using Body Shop Vitamin E Moisture Cream, which I really like. I think my favourite so far though is the Garnier Moisture Match Mattifying Fresh Cream because it really helps stop excess oil production in summer.

And that’s literally my entire skin care routine. It’s worked really well for me and I now can’t imagine ever using another cleanser. Of course skin care is a hugely personal thing and everyone’s skin is different, so I can’t promise this will work for you, but I think these are quite universal products and might be worth a try.

3 thoughts on “Updated Evening Skin Care Routine

  1. I’ve heard so many great things about the cleanse and polish, what is the texture of this? Because it says polish, so I would think that would make it gritty but I’ve heard people use it around their eyes, so that makes me think its more of a cream texture.
    XOXO
    Veronica

    • It’s definitely a cream. Quite a thick one. You can rub it all over your eyes to remove eye makeup. I have sensitive eyes but it doesn’t play them up. I think polish comes from the rubbing it off with a cloth part not the cleanser part.

Leave a Reply

