Maybelline The Falsies Flared Mascara

SAM_1736

SAM_1737

 

This mascara has an amusing story behind it. I had to get a super early train to London the other day and didn’t have time to do all my makeup at home. I did my base (foundation, powder and blusher) and then took eye makeup and a lipstick with me. On the train I applied eyeshadow and eyeliner and curled my lashes. I then reached for my mascara…. which of course I had left at home. I decided I couldn’t spend all day with no mascara on, so when I got to the station I went straight to Boots.

I considered buying a super cheap mascara, but in the end decided to try something I have heard others rave about: Maybelline The Falsies. I was surprised to see two different variations and had no idea which to pick. On a whim I went for the Flared version.

Maybelline The Falsies Flared has a spoon brush to first load lashes with  volume and then press them into a flared arch.

I have used this mascara a few times now and I’ve got to say I was disappointed and found it didn’t live up to the hype. I found the brush a bit large and awkward to use. The mascara gave a nice length but it didn’t really give a lot of volume. I also found the length didn’t last all day and it needed reapplying, at which point it clumped my lashes together. It  flaked towards the end of the day and it’s seriously hard to remove.

It’s not the worst mascara I’ve tired but it definitely isn’t something I’d repurchase. Perhaps I chose to the wrong version when I picked up Flared. Let me know if you have tried both and preferred the other. Is it a lot better?

____________________________

Don’t forget to enter my amazing Majestical jewellery giveaway!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Bloglovin

One thought on “Maybelline The Falsies Flared Mascara

  1. I personally don’t like either of those mascaras. My favorite drugstore mascara for only $8 is Maybelline’s Lash Stiletto. It’s seriously amazing. I did a blogpost on it and how it looks. I pair it with Dior’s Diorshow Iconic Overcurl mascara and I get perfect, lush an dig volume/length lashes every time! But if you just use the lash stiletto it works great on its own with 2 coats 🙂 http://styliststeph87.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/mega-mascara-routine-get-falsie-looking-lashes/

Leave a Reply

