Avène Cleanance Toner

SAM_1677

It’s been a long while since I used toner, so I was really excited when I spontaneously decided to buy a new one. I spent ages on the Boots website looking at different products, and eventually went for a mid-range toner: Avène Cleanance Toner.

This toner is specifically designed for blemish prone skin (which I would say mine certainly is these days *sob*). It is supposed to purify the skin after cleansing, as well as absorbing excess oil to mattify the skin and leave it shine free. Sounds perfect right?

I’m really disappointed to say that this toner and I did not get on at all.

I used it morning and night on a cotton pad the first few days (as per the instructions), just sweeping it across my face. It removed the little bits of foundation my cleanser left behind, and left my skin feeling really clean. It didn’t feel tight at all. Things were going well.

Then, disaster struck. I woke up on the fourth day and my skin was so unbelievably dry. It felt almost scaly to touch and it was red and sore in places. I abandoned use of the toner immediately and spent 5 days using a seriously heavy duty day and night cream for dry skin. Eventually my skin got back to where it had been before.

As you can imagine, I was very nervous about using this toner again. I am too tight to throw away a full bottle, seeing as it cost more than £10. I am not using it every day, and definitely not twice a day. I have been using it in the evening on the odd day I wear a full face of makeup. It cleans my face up well, but obviously it isn’t doing it’s job if it is supposed to be used twice a day, daily.

So obviously I can’t recommend this product. If you are thinking of using it, I would advise steering clear unless you have very oily skin, as it is very drying. If you have combination-normal skin, it will most likely dry you out completely.

 

2 thoughts on “Avène Cleanance Toner

  1. Pingback: Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

