Urban Decay Naked 3

SAM_1645

 

SAM_1647

I never thought I would be writing this post, ever. I am now the proud owner of the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette. My awesome boyfriend bought this for me as an anniversary present (he knows me so well) and I am totally thrilled! It’s so beautiful!

Naked 3 is definitely my favourite of the Urban Decay palette because it has a lot of gorgeous rose gold tones. I don’t care if they are right for my skin tone or not, they are so pretty! I haven’t done swatches of all the shades because they are all over the net now. If you want to see some, Temptalia has some excellent swatches. My favourites have to be Dust, Burnout, Trick and Liar.  Dust is a “pale metallic pink shimmer with iridescent micro-glitter“. Don’t ask me exactly what “iridescent micro-glitter” is, but it basically gives it more of a glittery feel that really sparkles. Burnout is described as a “light pinky-peach satin“. This one is similar to Dust but more wearable because it’s shimmery rather than glitter. Trick is probably the hardest to wear of the four. A “light metallic pinky-copper shimmer with tonal micro-sparkle“ it’s more copper than rose gold so can wash you out if you aren’t careful. Pair it with a deep brown in the crease and go smoke crazy! Speaking of browns, I love Liar, a “medium metallic mauve shimmer“. It is brown without being too deep and it has the perfect shimmer to it.

SAM_1652

As you may have guessed, another thing I love about this palette compared to Naked 1 and 2 is that Naked 3 is full of shimmery shades! I wish that the palest shade, Strange, had a bit of shimmer to it though, because it looks odd having a non-shimmery shade in the corner of the eye if the rest of the eye is shimmery.

I never truly believed that there was going to be much of a difference between Urban Decay shadows and normal high street/drug store eye shadows. I was totally wrong. The quality speaks for itself almost immediately in how highly pigmented the shadows are, but where Naked 3 really comes into its own is towards the end of the day. I’m used to eye shadows creasing badly, especially without primer, but these just don’t. Honestly, I was so so surprised. I even went without eye shadow primer for a few days to really test them and the shadows still look great at the end of the day. It would probably be going  a bit far to say it’s life changing, but it’s pretty awesome! The one thing you do need to watch with some of the shadows is not putting too much on your brush. They are quite powdery, so you can get fall out under your eye if you aren’t careful.

My Naked 3 palette also came with samples of Urban Decay Primer Potion (eye shadow primer) in various shades. I’ve already used it a few times with Naked 3 shades, but as I mentioned, I don’t really need it. I shall try it with some other eye shadows to see how it holds up.

So now I have my dream palette, what’s the one thing I am wishing for now? A smaller version that I can travel with more easily. Come on Urban Decay, isn’t it time for Naked Basics 2?!

6 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked 3

  1. Pingback: February 2014 Favourites | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

