YSL Rouge Volupte Lipsticks: No 7 Lingerie Pink and No 17 Red Muse

SAM_1476

These two absolute beauties were Christmas presents from my boyfriend and his sister (thank you!!). I have always wanted my very own YSL lipsticks, specifically from the Rouge Volupte range. I’m sure you will agree that the packaging is simply stunning. It looks so luxurious and elegant, particularly in how understated it is. It doesn’t scream expensive, it’s far too classy for that. Beautiful.

Still, there’s no doubt that these lipsticks come with a YSL price tag. That’s why I would never have bought one for myself, or at least not for a few years! You can imagine how thrilled I was to receive not one, but two! The colours I was given are No 7 Lingerie Pink and No 17 Red Muse. Red Muse is that absolutely classic shade of red which looks great on virtually everyone and is completely timeless. Lingerie Pink is a quirky, bubblegum-pink shade which is fun and easier for day time wear. Although personally I don’t shy away from red lipstick during the day, I know some find it intimidating.

The first thing you will notice is that the lipsticks are shaped differently from your standard triangular-style lipstick. This doesn’t have too much impact on application (it’s perhaps a little more tricky), but it does make them look less worn down or used, which is nice.

The lipsticks themselves are really smooth and creamy. They glide on really easily and are very opaque. I have found that a lip liner is essential with Red Muse to give a clean, professional looking finish. I have tried red, nude and transparent and I think nude actually works the best. My nude lip liner is from Model Co and is the Illusion lip liner if you want to try it.

I was really shocked at the staying power of these lipsticks. It’s pretty incredible and is where the lipsticks really come into their own and justify their price tag. Although there is a little transfer onto cups when drinking, it is nothing like I would usually expect. More importantly, the colour stays put and looks flawless, even after eating you bearly need a touch up. I can get away with reapplying as little as once or twice a day.

I am completely in love with these lipsticks and I no longer have any idea how I lived without them in my life! I’d best get saving so I can afford to add to my collection now!

 

7 thoughts on “YSL Rouge Volupte Lipsticks: No 7 Lingerie Pink and No 17 Red Muse

    • It’s pink not purple. I think it looks lovely, it looks sort of bubblegum pink in the tube but when its on it melds with your lip colour to look more natural 🙂

  1. Pingback: January 2014 Favourites | A Perfect Masquerade

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Spring Lip Colours | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

