Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Stellar

SAM_1542

SAM_1545

Everyone has no doubt heard about the Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquers by now. They were one of the ‘big’ lip products of last year. The hype was crazy. I really didn’t expect to like them because I hate lipglosses. I have never understood the appeal of something wet and sticky on your lips. Every time the wind blows it sticks to them, it smudges and goes everywhere. Right? Still, I wanted to try one, because you can’t judge something properly without testing it first!

For Christmas I was given a Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer in the shade Stellar. Stellar is a gorgeous orangey-red shade. The picture below really doesn’t do it justice but the lighting was terrible, apologies for that.

The first thing you will no doubt notice is the unusual shape of the wand. I’m not really sure the point behind the dip in the middle. I think it’s to pick up product so that you get a thick layer. I was surprised by how easy it was to apply. It glided on and looked effortlessly perfect. No pfaffing about with lip liner or having to start again because you’ve overshot your top lip and look like a doll. Is that just me? Anyway, the colour was amazing. It’s so opaque, just like lipstick, but has a gorgeous shine to it like a lipgloss.

The real test for me was always going to be staying power. I put this on in the morning and then got on the train. I got to the station and ordered my standard Friday morning skinny latte. As I expected, some of the product transferred onto the cup, but when I checked in the mirror having finished my drink, I was really surprised to find I didn’t need to reapply. Although you get a reasonable amount of transfer, the staying power of the colour is really impressive. I only re-applied about three times during the day.

So this is a prime case of “don’t judge a book by it’s cover”. The Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer is far from a lipgloss. Give it a try and see what I mean!

SAM_1532

3 thoughts on “Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Stellar

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Spring Lip Colours | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

