Body Shop Coconut Body Scrub

SAM_1494

Today I am reviewing the first of my Christmas gifts! I have been using it every other day since Christmas, so I think I am now in a position to discuss it fairly.

The Coconut Body Scrub is one of Body Shop’s best selling scrubs. It is designed to removes dead skin cells and stimulate microcirculation. It contains organic virgin coconut oil which is great for your skin. It has a gorgeous coconut scent. I find some of Body Shop’s products don’t really smell of what they are supposed to, but this one definitely does. Coconut is a great scent for bath and shower products. It feels a bit more luxurious than some of the fruity scents like Strawberry or Mango, but still smells clean and fresh, unlike some of their creamier smells like Shea or Cocoa. I love those scents, but for more for moisturisers than shower products.

To use the scrub, scoop some out of the tub and apply it to damp skin in a circular motion, then rinse thoroughly. I use it in the shower every other day, as I said. You could incorporate it into your bath routine, but then you will end up with bits of grainy scrub in your bath water which wouldn’t appeal to me.

SAM_1496

The scrub has a creamy consistency with a medium thickness and contains gritty lumps (think hair conditioner with bits in). I’ve heard mention that these are bits of coconut shell, although I’m not sure. I really like the gritty, grainy texture as it really feels like the scrub is working, breaking down those dead skin cells. Pairing it with the creamy consistency is a clever idea; the hard and soft textures work really well together. The scrub leaves my skin feeling soft and smooth. It is a great addition to my shower routine and leaves the bathroom smelling like fresh coconut for ages afterwards!

If you really like the smell of this product and want it to be a bit more intense, I think the scrub would be great if you used it with the Body Shop Coconut Shower Cream and finished off with the Body Shop Coconut Body Butter.

6 thoughts on “Body Shop Coconut Body Scrub

  1. I’ve been looking for a body scrub to incorporate into my shower routine, but I’m having a hard time finding the perfect one. I really enjoy sugar based scrubs or scrubs that have the same consistency of of a sugar scrub. From the picture though it doesn’t seem like it would be very exfoliating if the only exfoliating bits are the little black specks I see in the photo.
    XOXO
    Veronica
    Ps. New Post!

    • I would say this is more of a luxury to use as a nice addition because you like it, not a heavy duty scrub that will do some serious work. I think if you are after serious exfoliation you are better off using an exfoliating mitt or glove rather than trying to get a heavy duty scrub.

  2. Pingback: February 2014 Empties | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

