Boots Beauty Advent Calendar Days 21-24

The day has finally come: time for my last advent calendar update. I am going to include my brief thoughts on the calendar as a whole at the end too.

IMG_20131223_191024

On the 21st I got a sample of Boots Botanics Heat Protection Shine Serum. I’m interested to try this as I don’t use a lot of hair products at the moment. For once I don’t mind it being a Boots own product as it’s a little out of the ordinary and the Botanics range is quite nice in general.

IMG_20131223_191115

Behind door 22 was a sample of Nails Inc polish in the colour Porchester Road. It isn’t something I would pick in a shop but actually it’s really nice and I wore it on Christmas Day with silver glitter over the top and it looked great. My only disappointment is the size – I don’t think a full size bottle would have broken the bank.

IMG_20131223_182747

I’m very intrigued by this gift: Umberto Giannini Backcomb in a Bottle. I hadn’t heard of this before but it sounds really cool, it is supposed to give you the volume and effect of back combing without having to wreck your hair by actually doing it. I’m looking forward to trying it!

IMG_20131223_191142

And finally, on December 24th I got a 17 (Seventeen) mascara. I was a bit surprised by this as I expected the best gift to be last. I’m sure this is great, but I think there were better gifts in the calendar.

So what were my overall thoughts? The calendar was a bit of a mixed bag. The nail polishes were a high point, as were the two Soap and Glory products. The Vichy samples are probably great for the older lady, but anti-aging is not something I think about yet. The low points were the terrible scrunchy and the perfume samples. I was looking forward to perfume samples but I was expected more than a tiny tube you could be given free in a magazine on any occasion. Overall I am glad I gave it a try, but I don’t think I would repurchase it next year as it didn’t wow me. I might look at getting a Benefit calendar next year instead.

Leave a Reply

