NOTD: Orange and Gold Grid

SAM_1382NB. Photos were taken a couple of days after painting, hence the polish is a little chipped

I wanted to do a NOTD post as I haven’t done one in a while, but I was struggling to find inspiration. I eventually decided on some sort of grid pattern using a new Barry M Nail Art Pen. I fished in my nail polish bag for vibrant colours and discovered a shocking lack of anything bright. All of my colours are generally summery pastel shades.

I settled on No 7 Stay Perfect Nail Colour in Tangy (orange) as a base coat. I painted two coats of this and let it dry overnight, deciding to have a hunt in Boots the next day for a nice bright green. I had in mind something I would describe as “forest green”, like the colour of foliage, not a mint or an apple green. Unfortunately, I didn’t find anything in the small shops around me that was quite right, but I did spot a gorgeous new gold colour from Collection – the Collection Hot Looks polish in No. 66 Aztec Gold.

I used Sellotape as a guide to help me paint individual squares of gold. I then drew in the grid lines with the black pen and finished everything with a top coat. It took a lot of patience waiting for each section to dry but in the end I think it was worth it because I think it looks really pretty. I need a bit of practice with the Nail Art pen as my lines are a little wonky though, especially when I had to use my left hand. Any tips on improving, or is it just a case of practice, practice, practice?

SAM_1384

4 thoughts on “NOTD: Orange and Gold Grid

  1. I love this mani! Very well done! I don’t see anything wrong with it, but if you think it could need improvement, then it’s always practice, practice, practice. Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

