New make-up storage

Now that I’ve moved. I wanted to get something nice to store my make-up in. As many of my regular readers will know, my make-up has been crawling out of about 6 different cosmetic bags recently, so it was definitely about time. My new bedroom has an old meets new theme to it. There’s a lot of wooden pieces of furniture, including a gorgeous big wooden door, and then I’ve paired it with modern art work and cushions in black, white and red. I was keen to get something either of wood or with a bit of a vintage theme, but most of the make-up storage solutions I found online were glass or acrylic. In the end, I lucked out whilst browsing in a couple of little craft stores. Here’s what I ended up with:

SAM_1288

This is actually a tea light holder with a glass jar inside. It’s covered in birch bark. I removed the tea light and am using it to store my make-up brushes, eyelash curlers, tweezers etc. I have also put in the concealer and mascara I use every day so that they are easily accessible.

SAM_1286

I thinned out my make-up collection to the essentials when I moved, so miraculously it all fits in this adorable little miniature wardrobe. In the top drawer I am storing lipsticks and lip products like Vaseline and my lip liner. In the middle drawer are my three foundations, tinted moisturiser, blushers, powder, bronzer and spare concealers. Finally, eye products are in the bottom drawer. I have managed to fit in four eyeshadow palettes, a couple of single shadows, a spare mascara, a tonne of eyeliners, eyeshadow primer and a pencil sharpener. As you can see, it’s deceptive in terms of size and actually will store quite a bit!

SAM_1293

SAM_1294

SAM_1289

I am now on the look out for something to organise my ever expanding nail polish collection. Any ideas?

7 thoughts on “New make-up storage

  1. Your new storage systems are so cute! I am also in the process of reorganizing my storage systems around my bedroom. You have just inspired me to tackle my make up collection storage. Thanks! 😀

  2. Love that tea light holder – also – your make up is so clean! Mine is so messy I darent photograph it! x

  3. Very lovely storage! I just have mine in those white plastic drawer sets, but I should be getting a new desk/vanity soon that will have drawers that I can use for storage. One thing I suggest for nail polish storage would be one of those drawer systems, you can get them at places like Kmart, Target or CVS, or if you’re near one, take a look around The Container Store for drawer systems. Try and find something with drawers tall enough that you can store your polish upright to prevent separation.
    XOXO
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

