Lush Cupcake Face Mask

SAM_1194

 

I bought this mask as part of a recent ‘accidental’ Lush haul. I’d never tried a Lush face mask before, but this one appealed to me because it looks and smells like chocolate and it would be an understatement to say that I like chocolate… I love the way Lush present the mask in a bowl with chocolate drops on top in the store, it makes it look really enticing. You can see an example on their website here.

The mask is particularly good for anyone with younger, more spot prone skin, or anyone with problematic oily areas. According to the Lush website, it has linseed  to nourish and soften the skin, fresh mint for toning, cocoa butter which is really moisturising and rhassoul mud to absorb grease and give a deep cleanse. I have had a rhassoul mud treatment before and I do think it’s great at cleansing and freshening the skin.

There is no other way to describe the smell of this mask except chocolate heaven! It smells like really rich dark chocolate in a pot and continues to smell like chocolate even when its on your skin.

SAM_1219

Once you’ve bought the mask you should keep it in the fridge because it contains lots of fresh ingredients. It also means the mask is pleasantly cold when you apply it to your skin. I don’t think I’d fancy applying lukewarm chocolatey mud to my face… It has a very thick consistency but it spreads well and evenly across your skin. I leave the mask a good 15 minutes till it has completely dried out and then I wash it off.

I really love this mask. Not only is it fun to apply, but it leaves my skin feeling really fresh and clean. It also only cost £5.95 which I think is quite good value. You get four or five fairly generous applications out of it and it feels like a high quality spa product.

The only downside is you will get in a bit of a mess. In fact ‘a bit’ would be an understatement. It takes a lot of warm water and soap to wash off and whatever flannel or face cloth you use will end up covered in it so will need to go straight in the wash. You are also likely to get it all over your sink, so don’t use it if you cleaned your skin an hour earlier! I totally think it’s worth it though and I can’t wait to try more Lush face masks. Any recommendations?

 

3 thoughts on “Lush Cupcake Face Mask

  1. Pingback: LUSH Products for Men. | Your Fairy Godmother

  2. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud Thursday | ...of pirouettes and concealers

Leave a Reply

