My current skin care regime

SAM_1214

A lot of very kind people have commented on how nice my skin looks in some of my recent photos, so I decided to do a post on my skin care regime. Skin care is of course a very personal thing because we all have such different skin types, so I’m not at all suggesting you should follow this regime to the letter, but you might find a couple of products that sound worth trying. I have linked full reviews to some of the products so you can read more if you want.

I’ll begin with the mornings. I do very little in the mornings because I’m always quite pushed for time. I don’t always shower in the mornings because I often shower in the evening after the gym. If I do, I use a face wash in the shower just to try and freshen up a bit. At the moment I am using an Olay Essentials Refreshing Face Wash which I definitely do not recommend! You can read my review here. At the very least each morning I like to cleanse and moisturise. I always used to be very lazy and hardly ever bothered with either until a friend finally guilted me into it. Now, I can’t believe I didn’t do it! I honestly think cleanser and moisturiser are the two most important things in your skin care regime. My complexion seems much more even and clear now that I use them.

As my cleanser morning and night I have been using the Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser. I’ve tried several different cleansers and so far this is my favourite. It leaves my skin feeling really fresh and clean. I wouldn’t say it quite lives up to the hype and I’m definitely open to finding something else, but I have repurchased this for the time being while I continue my hunt. Moisturiser wise, I have tried a couple from the Garnier Moisture Match range and have settled on the Shine Be Gone Mattifying moisturiser as the best for my skin as it is combination: normal-oily.

The evening is when I really kick my skin care up a notch. I begin by removing my make-up. I’m pretty religious about this and I’d have to be absolutely dead on my feet not to. I do keep some face wipes to hand but I honestly can’t remember the last time I used them any more. If I have been at work and my make-up is very minimal, I head straight to my Liz Earle cleanser as this will remove virtually all make-up in one go, even waterproof mascara. If I’ve been wearing a fair bit, perhaps a dramatic eye make-up look, I start with using some L’Oreal Micellar Solution on cotton pads before using the cleanser.

Next I like to apply a spot treatment. All in all I’ve been blessed with fairly good skin and I don’t often get big breakouts, however I do still get the occasional spot, particularly around my slightly oilier T-Zone. To keep this under control I use Effaclar Duo by La Roche-Posay. I know some people think this is a holy grail product. I wouldn’t go that far, but I do think it helps keep my skin clearer. When I am sure the product has absorbed well into my skin I apply my moisturiser. I sometimes like to leave a good 15 minutes in between just to be sure.

A few times a month I also like to use some deep cleansers and a face scrub. The face scrub I use at the moment is from Simple and it’s great for making sure all the nasty dead skin cells are removed. I am a huge fan of Bioré Deep Cleansing Pore Strips for my nose at the moment . They are designed to pull out any deep down dirt which is clogging up your pores. I have just run out which is why they don’t feature in the image above! Finally, I try and use a face mask at least once a fortnight for a really good deep cleanse. I like to try lots of different ones, but the one I keep going back to is Soap & Glory No Clogs Allowed.

 

5 thoughts on “My current skin care regime

  1. Sounds like you have some great staple products in your regimen! My skin care has done a complete turn around because I’m on a new medication which virtually sucks all the moisture from my skin.
    XOXO
    Veronica

    • That sucks 😦 I’d recommend Garnier Day Cream (rose scent), I keep some in because I sometimes get a couple of patches of dry skin in the summer. It’s amazing, so intensely moisturising!

Leave a Reply

