Mini make-up brush reviews!

SAM_1047

As some of you may remember, in a recent haul post I included a Real Techniques Shading Brush which I had ordered online. One of my readers asked me to review this when I’d had chance to use it a bit. I always like to write about things when it’s requested but I didn’t think I had enough to say to fill a whole post. I then had a bit of a brainwave – why not write about all of the brushes I have been using lately? So that’s what I’m going to do. Hopefully there will be a nice mix of brushes which cost a variety of different prices

I’ll start from the beginning of my make-up routine and work from there as that seems to be a logical way to do it.

SAM_1058

Eco Tools Bamboo Foundation Brush – As regular readers will know, I was a little disappointed when I bought this brush as I was actually after a Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. However, having used it for a few weeks, I am definitely glad I bought it. It allows me to apply liquid foundation, or even the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse foundation, swiftly and easily to the skin. Although you can’t buff your skin as much as you might with an Expert Face Brush, I really don’t think you need to because it distributes the foundation so evenly.

SAM_1055

Cosmopolitan Powder Brush – I have had this powder brush for donkey’s years and I’ve never bothered to replace it because it does the job so well. It may not be the nicest looking brush in the world – everything from the plastic handle to the synthetic looking bristles looks really cheap in my opinion – but it picks up powder well and evenly distributes it. I think they’ve updated the range of brushes since I bought mine because it looks a lot nicer now.

SAM_1056

Eco Tools Bamboo Blush Brush – This is the brush which made me fall in love with Eco Tools as a brand. I love how soft the bristles are – they look and feel really expensive. You can hardly feel the brush as it touches your skin but it buffs powder blusher in really nicely giving you a lovely even finish. I love how ethical the brand feels too.

SAM_1062

Pretty Pink Angled Eyeshadow Brush – I got this brush as part of a set from Argos. Most of the set was really rubbish and a lot of the brushes have fallen apart (the handles fell off after literally one use!) so I definitely wouldn’t recommend buying the set! However, this brush has done okay so far and I am using it to fill in brows a little with eyeshadow because it’s quite sturdy and doesn’t get shadow everywhere. I guess I’m including this to show you shouldn’t always discount brushes because they are cheap. There are some diamonds in the rough!

SAM_1060

Boots Eyeshadow Brush – This is my favourite flat eyeshadow brush. It doesn’t look the most expensive (and it wasn’t) but it picks up eyeshadow better than any other brush I have tried and it applies it fully and evenly to the eyelid. I’d highly recommend it!

SAM_1050

Real Techniques Shading Brush – I was so excited to buy this brush because everyone and their mum seems to be obsessed with Real Techniques at the moment. I am a bit of an eyeshadow fiend so this seemed a good one to start with it. I really love how versatile it is. You can use it to apply a base eyeshadow, apply eyeshadow to your crease, or to blend colours together. However, it isn’t as good at blending as the Revlon brush I’m going to talk about below. 

The brush is really soft and it’s a nice looking brush to have in your collection. My only disappointment is that it doesn’t retain it’s beautiful white colour. Even after washing this several times I haven’t been able to remove the stain of the brown eyeshadows I use. Maybe I need a better brush cleaner?

SAM_1053

Revlon Contour Shadow Brush – This is my favourite blending brush of all time and, considering I bought it several years ago, I’m really surprised by how well it’s lasting. I think the handle of the brush looks as expensive as the Real Techniques ones, although the bristles themselves let it down as they look a bit inexpensive. But as with any brush, it’s more about how it works than how it looks. The bristles aren’t as soft as the ones on the Real Techniques Shading Brush, but I find this actually works better for blending. I have yet to find a brush which gives me as natural a blend between colours as this one.

5 thoughts on “Mini make-up brush reviews!

  1. I don’t know why people bother spending lots of money on expensive, designer brushes when you’ve just proved the cheaper ones work just as well! I could never bring myself to spend $20+ on one brush!

    • I think some of it is being proud (or perhaps a bit snobbish in certain cases). I mean it is nice to have designer things sometimes just because you have something special and expensive. But there’s definitely no need for it and it should be something you do for your own personal interest not something you make others feel bad for not having.

  2. I love that RT shading brush!

    What are you using to clean your brushes? I’ve found that with a pinch of baking soda and some oil (I used to use olive oil, but I’ve started using jojoba), all the stains come out of the white bristle brushes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

