My Pick of the MUA Eyeshadow Palettes

SAM_0850

I have always wanted to feature a lot of budget products on this blog because I really think there are some amazing things out there which you don’t need to spend a fortune on.

MUA eyeshadows are some of my favourites and the palettes are only £4 for 12 different shades. The MUA shadows are fairly highly pigmented and they last really well, particularly if you use an eyeshadow primer underneath. I think they blend really well together and the shade range is fantastic. They are quite shimmery and you’ll struggle to find a truly matte shade, but I love shimmery eye shadows, even for day wear. My only real criticism of these palettes is the individual shades don’t have names so it’s really hard to talk about them with you!

I thought I’d share some of my favourite palettes with you so you can see the gorgeous range of shadows that you can get.

Heaven and Earth

SAM_0861

I thought I’d start with this palette as it’s my absolute favourite. You can probably tell that from how well used some of the shades are. I prefer this to Undressed even though Undressed is a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked Palette as I find these shades more wearable, particularly everyday. The creamy, tan colour third from the right on the top row is almost at pan on one side as it is my go-to base colour. I love to apply the shade second from the left on the bottom row in my crease and in the outer corners of the eyes. The very pale creamy, white colour in the very top left hand corner is the perfect colour for highlighting your brow bone and the inner corners of your eyes.

Undressed

SAM_0859

As I mentioned above, Undressed is MUA’s dupe for the Urban Decay Naked Palette and I have to say I think it’s the best out there. MUA also do another palette called Undress Me Too which is, you’ve guessed it, a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette. This palette has a couple of matte shades which I find a bit out of place really because I don’t blend matte shades with shimmery ones so I don’t really know what to do with them. I love some of the lighter shades in this palette and, in particular, the rose gold shade second from the left on the top row. I also love the shimmery bronze colour third from the left on the bottom row. The deeper browns and blues leave me a bit cold though, I’m not sure what to do with them.

Starry Night

SAM_0860

Now I’m moving on to some lesser known MUA palettes. A lot of people have Heaven and Earth and Undressed, but I hardly ever come across someone who owns Starry Night. I really don’t know why because I absolutely adore this palette. I think maybe some people are put off by the blue shades as blue isn’t the easiest colour to wear, but even if you just buy this for the greys and purples I think it’s worth it. This palette contains some of my favourite shimmery greys and silvers, in particular the pale silver second from the left on the bottom row. However, the real genius of this palette are the purples and lilacs. I love the apply a silver shadow to my lid and then blend a purple or lilac shade in the outer corners of my eyes. It’s such an effective night time look! I just wish MUA would replace the rubbish pink shade with another purple. Pink eyeshadow? Really?

Poptastic

SAM_0851

My final pick is not for the faint hearted! Poptastic was the first palette I bought. I got it to do some costume make up with and I have since used it a couple of times for dramatic night time looks. I’d definitely pair these shades with a nude lip and do some serious blending, but they are fantastic if you want to add a dramatic pop of colour. I love (you’ve guessed it) the purple shades, but I’m also partial to a blue occasionally. I’ll admit the yellows, red and pink are a bit of a miss, but I think £4 is still worth it for the more wearable shades.

I also want to give a shout out to the Pretty Pastels palette which is next on my list to buy as it has some gorgeous peach and lilac shades.

So there you have it. Those are my favourite MUA shadow palettes. What’s yours?

4 thoughts on “My Pick of the MUA Eyeshadow Palettes

  1. Pingback: Mua: review lash boom mascara and eyeshadow sticks | life through tinted sunglasses

  2. I’ve been lusting after Heaven and Earth and both of the Undressed palettes, but I really really don’t need them. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

