CK Calvin Klein Tempting Glimmer Sheer Creme Eyeshadows

SAM_0722

 

There are always those brands you love that disappear from the beauty-sphere, seemingly for good. CK by Calvin Klein was one of those. The entire line was discontinued a few years ago, probably because it wasn’t performing as well as they’d have liked sales wise. Now Calvin Klein are trying again with the CK One beauty line.  So what’s the point of me telling you this? Well, a lot of people don’t know how easy it is to get hold of discontinued beauty products even a few years after they were last sold properly. Although you can’t walk up to a Calvin Klein counter in a department store to buy the products any more, you can still get them in all sorts of places online.

I spotted these cream eyeshadows whilst browsing online recently and decided I might as well try them. I chose Vintage Metal which is a rich bronze colour and Retro Silver which is unsurprisingly a silver colour. The packaging looks really inexpensive considering the price they originally retailed for, however it doesn’t bother me considering how cheaply you can pick them up now.

This is a bit of a mixed review really because I absolutely love Vintage Metal but I’m incredibly disappointed with Retro Silver. I can’t believe they are from the same line!

SAM_0715

 

Vintage Metal is really rich and pigmented and it wears really well; it lasts all day. It glides on really easily so its the perfect alternative to blending powder eyeshadows if you are in a hurry. I have taken to using it as a base and then applying the deeper rose gold shade from my MUA Undressed palette in the crease and outer corners of my eye. It’s so gorgeous and definitely one of my favourite make up products right now.

SAM_0718

Retro Silver is basically the opposite. It isn’t pigmented at all, in fact you can hardly see it on your skin. I guess you could use it after your coloured eyeshadow to add a bit of shimmer and glitter to your evening eye make up, but I don’t really see how that would be preferable to using a pigmented eyeshadow with some shimmer. It’s also quite a wet consistency and feels a bit slimy. All in all I am really disappointed with it and am seriously considering throwing it away!

SAM_0717

2 thoughts on “CK Calvin Klein Tempting Glimmer Sheer Creme Eyeshadows

Leave a Reply

