My Summer Essentials

SAM_0515

The weather in the UK is so changeable at the moment. We’ve had everything from glorious boiling hot sun to pouring rain and strong winds in the last few months. However, with true British grit and determination and with continued hope for more sun, I have put together a list of my essential summer beauty products for hot weather.

First up, we all know it’s essential to use a really good sun screen. My absolute favourite is the Nivea Sun Invisible Protection Spray. I use SPF 30 for the UK weather. This is a transparent liquid which you spray onto your skin and rub in. It’s brilliant if you are running low on time and want something which won’t leave white marks even if you don’t spend a lot of time rubbing it in. The downside is, like most sun protection, it has that typical sun screen smell – chemicals, yum.

Following on from sun screen, I also like to have a bottle of after sun to hand.  I use the Nivea Sun Moisturising After Sun Spray. This is so cool and soothing after a day in the sun and is particularly good if your skin has burnt as it contains aloe vera. The spray bottle makes it very easy to use.

Another product which I think is essential for summer is a really good moisturiser. I don’t know about you but my skin does tend to dry out a bit in the summer time. I love using a body butter to add some well needed moisture back into the skin. I love the Body Shop Cocoa Body Butter because it smells divine!

Like most people, the minute I see sunshine I want to show off my legs in skirts and dresses. To make sure they look as good as possible, I always reach for my exfoliating gloves. Mine were really cheap from Boots. I use them with a body scrub or with my ordinary shower gel or body wash to get rid of dead skin cells and leave my legs looking and feeling smooth.

I always keep a big hair clamp close to hand in the summer time so I can really quickly put my hair up and get it off the back of my neck in hot weather. Sunglasses are also a must to protect my eyes from the sun and keep nasty pollen particles out of my eyes (hayfever is not my friend).

I hate wearing a lot of make up in hot weather but sometimes I do want a little bit of coverage if I am having a bad skin or low confidence day. That’s why I have been using my No 7 Triple Protection Tinted Moisturiser a lot this summer. I reviewed this product here if you’d like to read more about it.

Finally, in hot weather I tend to do less with my eyes because nothing looks worse than smudged eyeliner and also because I wear sunglasses a lot. Instead I tend to reach for bright, coral lipsticks. Two of my favourites are Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick in Coral Queen and Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in Coral in Gold. The Coral in Gold shade has a gorgeous gold shimmer to it so it’s fantastic if you are going somewhere special.

SAM_0520

From top to bottom: Rimmel Lasting Finish 210 Coral in Gold and Rimmel Moisture Renew 620 Coral Queen

8 thoughts on “My Summer Essentials

  1. I agree with you! The chocolate body butter smells Incredible. I`ve heard rumors about it being limited edition. Do you know anything about that?

Leave a Reply

