Review: La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo

 SAM_0104

When I decided to go on a mission to improve my skin a few months ago, Effaclar Duo by La Roche-Posay was one of the products I purchased. It retails for £10-13. I’ve heard such good things about this product from other beauty bloggers and most of the online reviews I’ve read are positively glowing!

Effaclar Duo is designed to unclog your pores, prevent breakouts and reduce imperfections in your skin. It is suitable for all skin types. You can apply it in the morning and/or in the evening to the entire face or just to the problematic areas, as part of your daily skin care routine. You can also use it as a base underneath your make up. Like all La-Roche Posay products, it contains their Thermal Spa Water. I’m not exactly sure what the supposed properties of this is, but it’s supposed to be exceptionally rich in Selenium which has antioxidant properties and can reduce cell damage in the skin.

SAM_0109The product itself is a light cream which quickly and easily absorbs into the skin. A little goes a long way with this product so the tube will last longer than you might think. The cream doesn’t have a fragrance, or at least if it does it’s barely noticeable. This is a welcome change from most spot and acne treatments which usually smell really strongly of chemicals.

So the question you probably all want the answer to – does it work? I have been using Effaclar Duo once or twice a day for three-four weeks now. I used it sporadically before then but not consistently enough to give a proper review. I use it on the bottom half of my face only (I need a stronger product for my forehead). Importantly, this product must be quite gentle as it hasn’t dried my skin up like most spot and acne creams do. In the first few days several of the spots which were hovering under my skin came to a head. This might make you think your skin is getting worse, but it is only temporary. Since then I haven’t had any bad breakouts in that area, but I wouldn’t say it is now imperfection free.

If you suffer from clogged pores, and some minor spots and blemishes, this could be a good product for you to try. However, it is only a mild product available from the skin care section of shops like Boots, albeit quite a good one, so if you suffer from quite severe acne then you should consult your GP and look for a stronger product specifically to treat acne.

If you enjoyed this post, you may like to read my review of La Roche-Posay’s Physiological Cleansing Gel here.

2 thoughts on “Review: La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo

  1. Pingback: My current skin care regime | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

