Review: Rimmel Scandal Eyes Mascara

 SAM_0202

I picked up this mascara a couple of weeks ago when there was an offer on in Boots, but I have only just got round to trying it.

The first thing which is immediately obvious is the bright orange colour of the packaging. Whilst you certainly won’t be able to lose this mascara in the depths of your make up bag, I can’t say the packaging particularly appeals to me. I think it looks quite inexpensive. For a start, the tube is huge and chunky instead of slim and elegant. I also find the plain orange colour to be a bit cheap looking.

SAM_0203The other unnecessarily chunky thing about this mascara is the wand itself. As I’ve mentioned before, I prefer brushes to combs, but this brush is absolutely huge compared to your average mascara. I find this makes it hard to apply the mascara delicately or precisely, meaning it is definitely not a good mascara for the bottom lashes.

So what does this mascara do right? Well, I have to say I quite like the formula of the mascara. It gives a nice thickness to the lashes without causing them to clump together too much. If you like to apply multiple coats of mascara you’ll probably find you need to comb through your lashes once the mascara has dried because it is quite a thick, dense mascara.

The mascara lasts fairly well for a non-waterproof mascara. It also doesn’t cause your lashes to lose their curl really quickly like some heavy mascaras do. However, by the end of a day’s wear you’d need to reapply if you wanted it to last the night as well.

Overall this is a fairly decent mascara if you are on a budget, but I do think there are other mascaras out there which do a better job for a similar price. I’ll continue to use this mascara for the time being, but I will go back to my Maybelline Volum’ Express mascara afterwards. I certainly haven’t been converted!

10 thoughts on “Review: Rimmel Scandal Eyes Mascara

  1. Pingback: Review! Maybelline Volum’ Express The Colossal Mascara | Your Fairy Godmother

  2. I’m always on the look out for a new fun mascara but I have to say that I’m really in love with my Maybellene Volum’ Express The Falsies. My next mascara has a lot to live up to!

Leave a Reply

