Testing products – part one

SAM_0182

Ever been really excited to try a new product, only to find you absolutely hate it, but you don’t want to throw it away because you spent so much money on it so you persevere even though you don’t like it? A great solution to this is buying or collecting samples or travel sizes of the products you want to try before you invest in the full size.

I have been doing this a LOT recently. Here are some of the products I have been trying and what I think of them:

Simple Kind to Eyes Eye Make Up Remover – A friend sent me this product in the post to try. You can buy the miniature versions of a lot of Simple’s products in places like Boots, particularly in the summertime, as they are sold as travel sizes. I must say the miniature version of this product is quite useful as you can pop it in your make up bag if you are travelling.

This product is great at removing standard eye make up, but not good at removing waterproof mascara – you need to scrub quite a lot. I personally don’t find that this is “kind to eyes”. My eyes are quite sensitive and are notoriously bad with eye make up removers. When I tried to use this product to remove mascara, my eyes ended up so sore I could hardly open them for at least 5 minutes afterwards. However, I have actually bought the full size bottle now because I find it is excellent for touching up eyeliner. I put a tiny bit on a cotton bud and use it to remove that little bit which might have smudged or not been as perfectly drawn as I’d like. This is far more precise than trying to use a make up remover wipe or pad and I personally think more hygenic than the make up corrector pens you can buy.

Schwarzkopf BC Oil Miracle – My hairdresser gave me a small sample of this oil after my hair cut was finished the other day (I say gave, I actually bought it). It is essentially a finishing oil which you can apply to the main body and ends of your hair to make it look glossy and salon styled. I’d avoid the roots so you don’t make them look greasy.

This product smells quite strongly of roses. It’s really good – so fresh and floral. I wouldn’t say I have seen it make a massive difference to how my hair looks, but I love wearing it as perfume for my hair! I guess my conclusion is, I’m enjoying using this sample, but I won’t be spending £10-15 on a full size because I just don’t think it does enough to justify that price.

SAM_0206

Soap and Glory Clean on Me Creamy Clarifying Shower Gel – I have heard amazing things about Soap and Glory, so I bought several of their products to try. This shower gel has a creamy, slightly fruity scent, although it is nowhere near as sweet as the Sugar Crush range. It lathers well and leaves the skin feeling smooth and clean. So will I be buying the full size version? I’m afraid not. Whilst I don’t have anything particularly bad to say about this shower gel, it didn’t wow me. The full size bottle is £6 which is a fair bit more than your average shower gel. This would have needed to have wowed me for me to justify a spend of £6 when I could buy a product that does the same thing for £2.99.

Radox Shower Smoothies Soul Soother – This is another travel size bottle which is freely available in places like Boots and Superdrug. I really like the scent of this shower gel – it’s really sweet. It contains chamomile, blackcurrant and cranberry, so it’s both creamy and fruity at the same time. It also lathers well and is an easy shower gel to use. However, I absolutely hate the cranberry seeds which are included in the shower gel. I find they get everywhere you don’t want them (!) and are really irritating and also entirely unnecessary! SAM_0187

Elemis Skin Clear Mattifying Moisturiser – This moisturiser came free with a magazine (either Glamour or Cosmo, I can’t remember which) which is another great place you can find samples of products to try. This moisturiser is designed to tackle oily prone skin, reduce redness and minimise blemishes. It absorbs really well and seems to tackle any dry patches quite well, however, I can’t quite express how much I hate the smell – a really strong tea tree scent. I guess some people might like this as it is admittedly a refreshing and clean smell, however, it just smells too overpowering to me and I would prefer something much more subtle on my face all day long!

 

6 thoughts on “Testing products – part one

  1. Pingback: July / August 2013 Empties | A Perfect Masquerade

  2. Pingback: Empties September / October 2013 | A Perfect Masquerade

  3. Pingback: Testing Products Part Three | A Perfect Masquerade

Leave a Reply

